top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSteven Humphries

The Last Temptation of Boris Johnson at Malvern Festival Theatre 25th January 2020

This was a last minute decision for me to go and see this and I didn't really know if it would be the sort of play I'd enjoy. I only booked my seat 12 hours beforehand and did manage to get a good seat even though the theatre was more than three quarters full. I usually always book front row seats but at Malvern the stage is quite high and the sets can be a way back from the front of the stage, so you can sometimes have difficulty seeing. Hence lately I have been trying out various rows to find my favourite. I was on Row D this time and that seemed pretty good, even with the tallest man in the theatre sitting just to my right in front of me.


Looking at the advertisements prior to booking didn't really give me too much of a clue as to what to expect but I did deduce it was a comedy. Possibly even a serious play about Boris Johnson would be partially a comedy I suppose many people might say. Still as an avid viewer of panel shows such as 'Mock the Week' and 'Have I Got News For You', I guessed I would probably enjoy it, although I did worry two hours of Boris Johnson jokes may wear a little. I need not have worried though on any of these counts. I actually really enjoyed it. I laughed throughout and the majority of the audience seemed to be laughing as well. Some harder than others it has to be said, but perhaps political leanings may have been more at play there.


The play was written by Jonathan Maitland and previously played at the West End before it's current tour. Small parts of the script are rewritten weekly based on recent news events and we got that on this occasion with references to Harry and Meghan's recent announcement and also a couple of mentions of Prince Andrew. Possibly the audiences in Southampton in two weeks time are due for another rewrite after the UK leaves the EU next week. The play is broken into two sections. The first half deals with the dinner party in 2016 where Boris and Michael Gove discuss their Brexit plans, with Boris trying to decide whether to be in the leave or remain camp. To aid in his decision he has visions of Winston Churchill, Margaret Thatcher and even Tony Blair to help him. The second half of the play jumps ten years into the future, to 2029. I don't want to give anything away about the plot of the second half as knowing the story will definitely spoil your enjoyment of it.


The set is quite minimal, with the main setting that of Boris Johnson's kitchen. This also doubles as a television studio, and an additional set that I won't reveal here.


The star of the play is Will Barton who plays Boris Johnson. He is excellent. Within a few moments I was convinced Boris himself had decided to tread the boards for an evening. Will has obviously studied Boris a great deal and has the voice and mannerisms all down perfectly. He walks the same way, sits down the same way, even sulks the same way. But what is really skilful is how he plays the two different types of Boris so well. We have the speech and interview Boris and also the at home Boris, which are both subtly different. We get to see this so well in Will's performance.

Bill Champion plays Michael Gove and Winston Churchill. Both very different characters but both so well played by Bill. I hadn't actually realised until half way through that it was actually the same actor playing both parts.

Emma Davies plays Margaret Thatcher and Sarah Vine. I'm not really too familiar with Sarah Vine so I can't comment too much on Emma's take on her, but her Margaret Thatcher was very well done. Not too over the top to make it silly as can be easily done with Mrs. Thatcher.

Claire Lichie plays Boris's then girlfriend Marina Wheeler, as well as various other parts. Another top class actor, she has great comic timing and is a perfect match for Boris in her many scenes with Will.

Tim Wallers plays Tony Blair hilariously but his portrayal of journalist Huw Edwards was absolutely amazing. Again I had to question whether it was really Huw or not.



As usual, after battling the crowds to get out of the theatre after the curtain call, I made my way to the stage door to meet the actors and get my programme signed, and I am happy to say I got the whole cast fairly easily. Had some nice little chats with the actors as I always think it's nice for the actors to get a bit of positive feedback.

To sum up, I had a great night. Very funny play, some great acting. The two hours flew by. I don't really see how it could be improved. I do think you do need to have a basic knowledge of the politics at work here and know who the characters are a little to enjoy it, as otherwise a lot of the jokes may go over your head.


The play is currently on tour for the next eight weeks or so. If you want more information please check out their official website at:

It has a few videos to give you an idea of what to expect as well as the dates and locations for the rest of the tour.




29 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page